Global iGuerilla Update

iWar/Wiki War

Friday, June 19, 2015

• Islamic State bots artificially transform Islamist tweets into
to ‘trending topics’ thus creating ‘Twitter Storms’
• The Islamic State mobilizes thousands of info-warriors:
­ - The mujtahidun (industrious) are highly active online activists
­ - The ansar muwahideen (general supporters) are less active
proliferators of messages designed by activists above

• At 55 Savushkina Street, Saint Petersburg, Putin’s Russia established
the Internet Research Agency as an Orwellian Truth Ministry.
­ - Thousands work 12 hour shifts using offsite IP addresses as
trolls who spread propaganda and disinformation while providing
pro-Putin/anti-western comments to online aticles
­ - The trolls post false stories about life and incidents in the US

• US experts assess that we are losing the online info war on the web
we invented
­ - The west focuses on counter-narrative rather than narrative;
making it reactive rather than proactive
­ - The west does not commit large numbers to 24/7/365 info ops

The West has to improve at Info War in order to defeat iGuerillas and info-savvy belligerents like Russia—

Permanent link to this article
Return to home page

iGuerilla should be the first book packed in the duffel bag for those carrying the fight to the enemy.”
–Peter J. Schifferle PhD, Lt Colonel.(ret) Professor, School of Advanced Military Studies U.S. Army.

More about the book / buy the book

More Dispatches

IS Strikes France (Friday, November 13, 2015)

Remember Me! (Tuesday, October 27, 2015)

American Amigos (Monday, October 19, 2015)

Ho Hum... (Tuesday, October 13, 2015)

Nuclear Terror (Friday, October 9, 2015)

1979 Redux (Sunday, October 4, 2015)

Watch Oregon (Thursday, October 1, 2015)

Dispatches (Tuesday, September 29, 2015)

Repeat (Monday, September 28, 2015)

Schism and Colonization (Wednesday, September 23, 2015)

Invasion (Sunday, September 20, 2015)

NOTICE (Saturday, September 12, 2015)

Back to the Future (Wednesday, September 9, 2015)

Hijrah (Sunday, September 6, 2015)

Wolves in Sheeps Clothing (Thursday, September 3, 2015)

IS and the ‘Angel of Death’ (Tuesday, September 1, 2015)

Sitzkrieg (Monday, August 31, 2015)

Hack Attack (Thursday, August 27, 2015)

Blatant Disregard (Monday, August 24, 2015)

Iran names its Enemies (Sunday, August 23, 2015)

All Dispatches